Tags

, ,

Why does this week seem to be crawling by? Probably because I’m tired and crabby…or maybe I’m tired and crabby *because* the week is crawling by, IDK.

Tuesday started off with me thinking it was Wednesday (hate when that happens). I’ve been feeling bored with my food lately and thus not eating very well or very often. A few days last week I had nothing but coffee and tea and water until 3 or 4 in the afternoon. Not a good habit to get into. So this week I’m trying to concentrate on making/creating food with new flavors as well as with flavors I already love.

Obviously I didn’t create this, but it’s something I don’t eat very often. I do not love yogurt, but I do love mango, so I gave this a shot mixed with Gorilla Munch and some crushed raw almonds. I liked it. I can’t say I’ll be eating it regularly but it was good for a change.

This contained mixed frozen berries (raspberries, blueberries, marionberries) which I buy in this bag from Costco…

…along with a frozen banana, 1 cup of almond milk, and a blob of Justin’s Maple Almond Butter. Again, not bad. Not something I would make every day, but definitely different than my usual breakfast of coffee. Perhaps this illustrates why I would never refer to myself as a healthy living blogger?

I just realized I never actually ate lunch yesterday. Dinner was great, though.

Cubed Yukon Gold potatoes roasted with minced garlic, olive oil, a bit of lemon zest, salt and pepper. When they were crispy around the edges I pulled them out of the oven and hit them with some chopped parsley and crumbled feta. So good.

This salad was my favorite part of dinner. I’m not much of a recipe poster because I never measure anything (I don’t even own measuring spoons – never have) but I can tell you what went into this:

Half a head of green cabbage
One heirloom tomato, chopped
Half of a red onion, chopped
The fresh/raw kernels from four ears of corn
One red bell pepper, chopped
One fresh jalapeno, minced
One 15 ounce can of black beans
A handful of chopped cilantro

For the dressing I used one large garlic clove minced, the juice of two limes, around 2/3 cup olive oil, some cumin, a dash of hot sauce, salt and pepper.

I combined everything and let it sit and marinate for about an hour before dinner. Everyone loved it. It was devoured and definitely will be made again. The boys had BBQ chicken on their plates along with the potatoes and the salad. I wasn’t in the mood and didn’t bother taking a picture of the chicken. It was grilled and had BBQ sauce on it. I’m sure you’re familiar.

Kettlebell workout was accomplished. Simple swings (200) and snatches (100). Nothing fancy but it gets the job done. That’s what I love about kettlebells. Even when you’re crunched for time you can get a very effective workout done in about 15 minutes.

Almost done with my post about Manuka honey. Later today if I’m not buried by work.

