We love lentils. They’re a decent source of protein for my vegan kid and they’re pretty versatile. I use them in soups, curries, stews, and salads. This is a salad inspired by one from our favorite Greek restaurant. The flavors are simple, but bright. It’s great for a light dinner with some crusty bread.

I’m usually terrible at writing down recipes. I am a throw stuff together until it looks right/tastes good kind of cook. It comes from my grandma who taught me to cook and never measured anything.

I don’t even own measuring spoons, but somehow I have a feel for what is right when I’m cooking or baking (yes, I eyeball measurements when I bake too). I go by feel, taste, and smell. So far it hasn’t failed me. I managed to write down some quantities as I was making up this salad this afternoon.

You’re welcome.

IMG_2451

Lentil Salad

Salad:

1.5 cups lentils
1 medium tomato, chopped
1/2 red onion, chopped
1/2 cucumber, chopped
1 large carrot, shredded
1/4 cup chopped kalamata olives

Dressing:

1 lemon, juiced
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 shallot, minced
1 TBSP Dijon mustard
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
s&p to taste
1/2 tsp dried oregano
Crumbled feta cheese (optional)

Cook lentils for 15-20 minutes until just tender, but not mushy.

In the bottom of a medium-size bowl juice the lemon, add the garlic, shallot, and mustard. Whisk. Slowly whisk in the olive oil. Add salt & pepper and oregano and set aside.

When lentils are done, drain and cool slightly. Add lentils to the bowl of dressing and toss gently. Allow to cool to room temperature. Stir in chopped vegetables. Check for seasoning and chill until ready to eat. For non-vegans, crumble feta cheese over the top of the salad before serving.

IMG_2452

Eat. Enjoy. Make plans to move to Greece.

