That’s my motto. I’m not big into dieting and I don’t really believe in deprivation. I like Michael Pollan’s philosophy as it most closely mirrors my own. Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants. We know the answer to the question “How do I get healthy,” but we spend so much time reading and researching and looking for the perfect eating plan and the perfect workout that we never actually implement any of it. It’s like that old Nike slogan: Just Do It. Pick something. Anything. And do it. Of course I’d advise you to pick up a kettlebell and start swinging, but really consistency is the most important thing when it comes to eating and working out. So what are we waiting for? Lets get moving.

Workout:

Warm up 40 2 hand swings w/26lb. 1 min. on 1 min. off
2 sets

40 2 hand swing w/26lb. 1 min. on 1 min. off
10 swing, clean, press Left, 10 sw., cl., pr. Right w/26lb. 2min. on 1 min. off
40 2 hand swing w/26lb. 1 min. on 1 min. off
10 clean, press, transfer w/ 26lb. 2min. on 1 min. off

Repeat x 3

Today’s Food:

5-6AM coffee w/cream 212
1PM Lentil vegetable soup 200, TJs PB pretzel nuggets (oops)
2PM Cocoa coffee 107
4PM TJs honey wheat pretzels w/cilantro jalapeno hummus 270
6PM Roasted broccoli w/meat sauce, cabbage salad 455

Total calories 1498

The TJs PB pretzel nuggets were a happy accident. I love those things more than I should and why I bought two bags of them over the weekend I will never know. I rationalize that the kids like them, but in reality I know I’m the one who will eat most of them. Oh well. If a couple handfuls of PB pretzels is my biggest problem, I’m pretty stinkin’ lucky.

Cocoa coffee is my sweet tooth solution. It’s one of my favorite concoctions. Mix 1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder, 2 Tbsp instant nonfat dry milk powder, and 2 packets Truvia in the bottom of your coffee mug. Pour hot coffee over and stir. You can drink it like that or, if you’re like me and want it creamier, add 1 Tbsp heavy cream. My favorite afternoon pick-me-up and only a little over 100 calories. Win.

Thankfuls:

I’m grateful for my life. I’m grateful for my kids. I’m grateful for a supportive husband who makes me and our family his top priority. I have everything I need. I am an incredibly lucky girl.

I ended up walking 2 miles with my kids this afternoon. It was a nice break in the day, away from my desk and my work. I’m going to try to fit this in on a regular basis. It really helped my mood. I am notorious for a 4PM slump in energy.

